

Thermochimica Acta 328 (1999) 1

thermochimica acta

Preface

Studies on calorimetry at the Institute of Chemistry of the Universidade Estadual de Campinas started in the middle of the seventies, with the acquisition of our first instrument. At that time, the investigation was directed towards some thermochemical aspects of adducts of zinc group elements. Since then, new groups started using this technique, and the interests were spread to include many other subjects in the field of calorimetry and chemical thermodynamics.

An old aspiration of the calorimetry group was hosting a conference in Brazil, where our research interests could be discussed with expert international colleagues. This became true in April 1998, with the realisation of the International Symposium on Calorimetry and Chemical Thermodynamics. This was possible due to the efforts of colleagues who accepted acting as an International Scientific Committee, especially Professor Ingemar Wadsö, to whom we are gratefull. This meeting had around 150 participants, most of them from other countries, and a large fraction of young scientists and students. This was the first event of this level organised in Brazil, and South America, under the joint sponsorship of IUPAC and the Brazilian Chemical Society and exceeded our expectations. The programme contained four plenary lectures, nine invited lectures, 31 oral presentations and 79 posters, ranging from the most basic aspects of chemical thermodynamics, instrumentation developments in calorimetry, to its application to fields as varied as solutions, adsorption onto solids, cells, soils and microorganisms.

The members of the Organising Committee wish to express their gratitude to the following organisations which sponsored the Symposium: The Brazilian Agencies CNPq, FAPESP, FAEP-UNICAMP, Instituto de Química – UNICAMP, SINC do Brasil and Thermometric AB.

The papers published in this special issue of *Ther*mochimica Acta are a good example of the broadness of topics covered during the Symposium as well as of its high scientific level.

Organising Committees: Scientific Committee

C. Airoldi (Brazil) J. Barthel (Germany) A.E. Beezer (UK) J. Bevan Ott (USA) A.F. Danil de Namor (UK) H. Suga (Japan) I. Wadsö (Sweden) – Chairman

Local Organising Committee

C.A. Airoldi (Universidade Estadual de Campinas) – Chairman

A.Z. Francesconi (Universidade Estadual de Campinas) – Treasurer

A.G. de Souza (Universidade Federal da Paraíba) C.A. Montanari (Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais)

J.A. Simoni (Universidade Estadual de Campinas) P.L.O. Volpe (Universidade Estadual de Campinas) W. Loh (Universidade Estadual de Campinas) – Secretary

A.E. Beezer

School of Physical Sciences (Chemistry) University of Kent at Canterbury Canterbury, CT2 7NR, UK